Lucid HD7 Update

Lucid red dot on SW M&P 15

I finally got to take the Lucid HD7 scope out for a good test run over the past couple of days. The scope is on my Smith and Wesson M&P 15. In the picture I am sighting it in at 25 years. My tacticool urban assault vehicle is in the background. My friend Tony took the picture and helped with the sighting in.

I’ve gone from $30, $80, to now a $220 red-dot sight. This is the first one I could actually see the reticle outside in full sunlight. Maybe my eyes are just old, but I have never been able to see the reticles when outside during the day. The Lucid has 4 different reticles:

  1. The standard red dot; and
  2. Cross hairs; and
  3. A medium size hollow circle; and
  4. A medium size hollow circle with a red dot in the middle.

I couldn’t see the standard red dot during the sight in. But the others were just fine. It took a lot more turns of the wrench to get the Lucid tight on the rail than I expected. According to my nephew, to properly torque something you turn it until you hear a snap and then back it off a 1/4 turn. I expected that was going to happen with the Lucid. But finally it stopped turning. Once properly tightened sighting in took only a few shots to dial it in. Holes were practically on top of each other at 25 yards.

Tony and I moved to the rifle range. The rifle range has steel targets at 100, 200, and 300 yards. From a standing position I could snap the gun to position and quickly target and shoot the 100 yd plate. No problem. My favorite reticle for 100 yards or less is the hollow circle. I switched to the cross-hairs and went to the bench to shoot the 200 yard targets. I also screwed in the 2x magnifier. You definitely should get at least that with the Lucid. No problem there either. Put the cross on the plate, press trigger, bang, and very pleasing… ping. For the 300 yard plates I also used the cross-hair reticle and 2x. Put the cross-hair at the top of the plate, bang….ping… bang….ping…bang…ping… bang…ping. 4 shots, 4 hits. Couldn’t ask for better than that. I turned the Lucid off and flipped up my Magpul BUIS and had clear visibility through the HD7.

Tony was seen coveting my HD7.

My wife and kids are out of town this week, so that night I unloaded the rifle (putting all the ammo away) and practiced moving and snapping the gun up on targets. Light switches make good targets. I had no problem putting the Lucid on target very quickly. The simple red-dot worked good in this situation (it was night). But I still like the hollow circle. I moved around from light to dark areas of the house to test the automagical light sensor. It adjusts the reticle brightness to give you just as much as you need but nothing more. Mostly that worked pretty good and I’m not sure how you could make it better. But if I were standing in a bright part of the house and aiming down a dark hallway the reticle was hard to see. The red-dot was the worst, but even my favorite hollow circle was difficult. Again though, I’m not sure how it could work any different. You can switch to manual brightness setting, but I’m not sure you’d want to do that on the fly in a personal protection scenario. I think I’d like to put a flip-up front sight on my rifle. The standard sight shows up in the Lucid and was a little distracting at night.

A couple of days later I went back out to the range by myself to test out shooting and moving. It is 102 deg here so I didn’t get to do as much as I wanted. But I did shoot the Sayoc Tactical Group: Shoot ‘Em To the Ground drill. The drill requires you to run from 20yds to 7yds, engage the target’s A zone and do a combat reload. So you have to put the reticle on the target twice in the drill. 15 seconds is the par time. I did it in 15.38 on my first run ever with the Lucid and my S&W MP15:

I am very pleased with the price and performance of the Lucid. It performed just like I wanted and the price was a lot more reasonable than Aimpoint or Eotech. I’d buy another Lucid red-dot and probably will get one for my other AR.

UPDATE: I just noticed that my score on Shoot ‘Em To The Ground with my old red-dot was 23 seconds. With the Lucid HD7 it was 15.38. I could have shortened the review and just said that.

UPDATE 2 (2010-10-19): This post is a couple of months old and still getting hits. Just like to say that after 2 months I am still very happy with the HD7. The Lucid HD7 last made an appearance on this blog when I shot up some hard drives with it mounted on my AR.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Kentar  On August 16, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    Wandered over to your blog from SayUncle’s site…

    A libertarian, a geek, a gun nut, a M&P 15 owner AND an FJ owner…It’s like we were separated at the cloning laboratory!

    Is that an MPAC rack on the back door of your FJ or a homemade DIY project?

    • trackerk  On August 16, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      That could be. My real brother doesn’t own a gun and used to drive a Prius. But he is still a good guy so I guess I’ll keep him.

      Yes, its an MPAC. I have the smaller one on the inside holding a fire extinguisher and 5gal water can. I wanted to put another smaller one on the other side, but I bought the FJ used and the previous owner had the sub-woofer installed and I couldn’t bare to get rid of it.

Trackbacks

