Shooty!

I think I need a new category for rifles I’ve made 300yd shots with. This one is my step-dad’s Mosin–Nagant. He bought it for an advanced gun smithing class as a project rifle.

Mosin–Nagant It was made in 1921. We tried to sight it in. But here’s the thing. I know a bit about my guns, but almost nothing about guns in general. So we spent some time trying to sight it in, but it already seemed to be pretty OK which is good because… I’m sorry, I hate to say it for fear you will think less of me… but frankly we couldn’t figure out how to adjust the sights. But here is the thing. This rifle just shot straight. We moved to the steel targets on the rifle range and hit the 100yd plates on almost every try.

Mosin–Nagant 200yds, exactly the same. Bang..ping. Bang..ping. It was amazing. Finally I targeted the 300yd plates and went to work. If you still have any gun respect for me, you won’t in a minute. It took me a few shots but finally.. bang…ping. Bang…ping… So I told my step-dad, it shoots great, I just had to aim a little above the plate and I could hit it almost every time. He walks over (and to all you real gun guys, please accept my heartfelt apologies) and says, oh well then you should have used this! And promptly flips up the rear sight and adjusts it. Ugh. I suck. Now that I am home I know what sort of tool we would need to adjust the front sight for windage, so please don’t leave me comments about that. Comments saying I suck are redundant, but will be accepted.

I think the rifle looks pretty good considering its age. He has some work to do on the action though. Several times we had to use considerable force to get the bolt open after a shot. I can’t wait to shoot it again though once it is fixed.

This is what my step-dad says about the rifle:

Received the rifle and about 600 rounds of ammunition yesterday and it really looks pretty good considering that it was made in 1921.  It was apparently refurbished by the Russians and configured to the 91/30 standards, and the stock has been refinished and all of the parts redone.  The bolt, receiver, and trigger all have the same serial number (unusual since it has probably been reworked several times and parts get swapped) [EDITORS NOTE: the stock had the same serial number too -trackerk].  Now, the gun is not worth anything considering I paid more for the ammunition than the gun, but since I have it I thought you might want to carve out some time (I work, but do get off at 3pm every day) and take me to the rifle range and play with it.

Just so we are clear, if anyone has guns you want to let me shoot, I am happy to make time to go to the range.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
