Shooter are you ready? Stand by…

Beep, beep, beep is the sound the alarm panels make in my house anytime an outside door is opened. I have a “keep all the doors locked all the time” policy, but nothing is 100% and sometimes a door gets left unlocked. Today I was sitting in my office working hard (on Facebook), when I heard “beep, beep, beep.” I’m alone in the house. The wife is gone to pick up the kids and taxi them to tutoring, art, and music lessons. No one is “scheduled” to come in a door.

Quick, how fast can you lay your hands on a weapon suitable for defending your home?

For times like now when I don’t actually have a gun on me (in gym shorts after working out), it is 3 seconds. That is the time it took me to put the laptop down and acquire one of the guns hidden in my house.

Turns out the cats, whom I hate, have a burning passion to escape the confines of the house and head out into the world. They have also learned how to open doors if they are not closed and locked properly. Unfortunately they also run from me, so this excuse wouldn’t work. The gun was put back in its hidey hole and the home secured.

As you’re walking around your home tonight, ask yourself, from right here, just as I’m dressed, how fast can I get to a weapon? If it is more than 3 to 5 seconds, consider making some changes. If your plan is to dial 911, then it will take 10-40 minutes for guys with weapons to arrive. Good luck with that.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Jennifer  On September 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    I actually carry in my gym shorts. I only buy gym shorts with a draw string because that is enough tension to hold up a IWB holster. Even on a treadmill, but that can be uncomfortable.

