I have a doubt

My wife says I have become cynical as I’ve gotten older. I counter with the wisdom that the difference between an optimist and a pessimist is experience. Then she smacks me. Recently a house burned down in Oklahoma. If I had a bookie I would bet that almost none of this description of the crime is true:

The couple told officials they returned home to 1801 Riviera Dr. about 11 p.m. and three masked men wearing black were inside, [OSBI Inspector] Florence said. The men handcuffed them to the chair while they ransacked the home and apparently set the house on fire as they left.

They called 911 from a neighbor’s house after they were able to free themselves, Florence said.

I could be wrong, but I’ve read a bunch of home invasion stories and very few match up with this one.  The chair was “outside their house” and they were handcuffed? If this really did happen this way, then the men will be easy to find because they have a grudge against these people.

UPDATE 9/22: This article from KOCO includes a few more details and states the facts a bit differently. Apparently the husband was an ex-deputy so the handcuffs aren’t quite as big a deal (bad guys carry rope and tape, but rarely handcuffs). Also they were handcuffed to a chair inside the house, managed to get free of the chair and go outside, still handcuffed. I probably wouldn’t place a bet with my bookie now. The story still sounds contrived to me, but not a sure thing.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Jennifer  On September 19, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Yeah. Something doesn’t add up there.

  • trackerk  On September 22, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    I’ve updated the post with a new report on the story. Some of the details were different than in the first report. I can’t figure out how to get wordpress to ‘bump’ a post back up to the top without just changing its date. Seems important to keep the dates the way they are though so I don’t like that.

