Sheepdogs in Action

WADSWORTH, Ohio – Wadsworth police say a gun-carrying couple helped them catch a man who was allegedly beating his girlfriend in a parking lot in front of her two small children.

via Police: Gun-carrying couple stops beating.

David doesn’t like it, but I don’t see anything wrong with it. A woman being beaten by a man would have no legal problem from pulling a gun and shooting him. Most women (but not my wife who is 6’3″ and can kick your ass) are physically inferior to most men and a man can do them great bodily harm just with their fists.

“My husband and I both have CCW licenses and we were in fear of her life, and we drew our weapons on him,” Heather Evans told the 911 dispatcher.

which is exactly right. When you intervene in a situation you get whatever legal defense the victim would have had. If the victim can legally use lethal force, then you can legally use lethal force. My wife and I would have handled it differently. She would have indexed her firearm, but kept it in the holster while I would have pulled the guy off and applied whatever non-lethal force was necessary. Only if he produced a weapon would my wife have drawn. But we train that and are capable of pulling it off.

So good on Mr. and Mrs. Evans. They have taken responsibility for their own safety and are even willing to help someone else in need. True sheepdogs. The police didn’t arrive until the bad guy had already fled the scene. But the Evans’ are also an exception to the “No one is coming to help you rule.” I’d like to read about an exception to that rule every day.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
