10:10:10 Celebration

POST BUMPED from Oct 3rd, SEE UPDATES

Courtesy of an exceptionally foul mouthed grumpy old person, I find that I can generate my own 10:10:10 poster! So here is mine:

Don’t really send me e-mail. Its a throwaway address and I won’t even get it. The event is not open to the public because some of the people reading this might be weirdos. Not you personally. I’m sure you are a very nice and responsible person, but due to the nature of the event, it will be invitation only.

The event will consist of:

  1. Having some nice 10:10 banners made at Kinkos; and
  2. Driving in my SUV to Kinkos to get them; and
  3. Taping the banners to cardboard boxes we have lying around the house (because we want to reuse instead of recycle whenever possible); and
  4. Driving 30 minutes or so outside of the city (in the SUV); and
  5. Shooting the banners with various handguns and rifles until we get tired; and
  6. Loading the boxes up with M80s and blowing the things sky high; and
  7. *Clean up all the boxes and spent shells.

It will be a glorious display of the power of sulfur, charcoal, and potassium nitrate when mixed together. I can guarantee that when we are done, those naughty chemicals will no longer be a carbon danger. Of course we will video the celebration so we can post it along side all of the other hippy vids of the day!

Please, 10:10 participants do not take offense. I have no wish to ventilate you with rifle fire, nor blow you into tiny bits (in God’s mercy). You can take a joke, right?. Although, frankly, I wouldn’t mind punching a few of you in the face for the video where you expressed the desire to kill me and my children because we don’t buy into your groupthink. But, hey, hey, its all in fun. No worries. Onward and upward… I’m betting we can get those 10:10 boxes at least several feet off the ground.

UPDATE: Awesome. My event is now listed by 10:10 on the 350.org website.

UPDATE 2: It lasted several hours, but it appears my event has been removed from the website. Deniers! I wish I would have had 1/2 a brain and screen capped it. I am such a n00b blogger.

UPDATE 3*: I think I see the problem. Apparently just reusing the boxes wasn’t a good enough goal for my 101010 workday. Here are some of the ideas they suggest:

so I’ve added step 7, we will of course clean up all the trash, spent shell casings, etc.. from the first part of the event. This of course far more than the lefties did this weekend in D.C.

Retrying to register our event now…Coolio

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • GOT  On October 4, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Nice work! Sounds like a perfect carbon burning event to me … 10/10 😉

    Looking forward to seeing the video footage!

  • trackerk  On October 4, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Lots of updates since the original post. This is going to be the best 101010 event evah!

Trackbacks

  • By 1010 Workday « Geek Warrior on October 4, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    […] Well I just don’t get it. I updated our workday plans to sepcifically include the last item on 1010‘s suggested […]

  • By 1010 Workday Update « Geek Warrior on October 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    […] location has been secured for our 10/10/10 workday! See here if you don’t know what I am talking about. We will video the event and be taking lots of […]

  • By SAW V « Geek Warrior on October 7, 2010 at 11:06 am

    […] Everything is always an emergency. It doesn’t matter what has gone before. Stop common polluting, check. Ratchet down industrial polluting, check. Clean up the water supply, check. Clean up the air, check. These are all things that have been done at least since the 60s. The environment we live in today is vastly better in air, water, and just in general that it has been since the industrial revolution. Can more be done? Sure. But instead of getting any credit for that, the eco-wackos just keep ratcheting up the rhetoric to try to make everyone feel bad and so something. So tired of all of it. Your emotional appeals used to fall on deaf ears. Now they just piss me off. […]

