Helping

This guy only makes about one post a month, but that is because each post is the length of an instruction manual. His latest post details how, if you choose, you can help the police during a violent encounter. His advice directly contradicts what I was told by my instructor during a concealed carry class: The police don’t want or need your help. That being said, I wouldn’t stand by and watch a cop (or anyone else) get beaten or die if I could do something about it without endangering my family.

The advice he gives seems pretty sound, except maybe this bit:

Once in position, I’d try to make eye contact with the officer and then do this: Point to myself and then give him a thumbs-up signal, which means I’m a friendly. Then I’d point two fingers at my eyes and then sweep those same fingers in a horizontal arc in front of me signifying that I’m watching your situation. Depending on the totality of circumstances I’m seeing, I might very slowly and subtly draw back my coat or shirt to show him I’m armed.

Maybe he has been in these situations before, but I can’t imagine ever doing this. I’m not sure how that comes off as anything but a threat. At least in Oklahoma, it would also be against the law:

It is unlawful to willingly or maliciously disturb the peace and quiet by shooting or brandishing a firearm.

So like all training, I recommend you read his post and take what is useful and store it away for the day you need it.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Undaunted  On October 20, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I really appreciate that you linked to my blog from here. Thank you.

    I’ve had a bit more than a concealed weapons license class in my life so I’ll stand by what I wrote, and thank you for stirring me to edit it a bit.

    Cheers and best wishes.

    Undaunted

  • trackerk  On October 21, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I understand that you’ve had plenty of training and experience. It wouldn’t be hard to eclipse the training and experience I have. I enjoy all of your posts.

    Oklahoma has no provision for open carry. So if your concealed firearm is visible in public and there was not immediate threat to yours or someone else’s life, then you have commited a crime. 90% sure that crime will be “brandishing” since we don’t have open carry, they don’t have to wait for you to wave it around.

    If you get the right sort of cop (like they all should be) he will be thankful you backed him up in a tense situation. The wrong sort (like are found in every department) will be angry that you made his life more tense and arrest you for displaying your firearm.

    In this case I don’t need a concealed weapons class or years of specialized firearms, security, law enforcement or military training. Access to the Oklahoma laws regarding firearms is all that is necessary. No open carry means you’ll be breaking the law and dependent on the good graces of the officer to see whether you go home or jail.

  • Undaunted  On October 21, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Understood. Good answer.

