‘Stranger Danger’ and the Decline of Halloween

Take “stranger danger,” the classic Halloween horror. Even when I was a kid, back in the “Bewitched” and “Brady Bunch” costume era, parents were already worried about neighbors poisoning candy. Sure, the folks down the street might smile and wave the rest of the year, but apparently they were just biding their time before stuffing us silly with strychnine-laced Smarties.

via WSJ.com.

According to the author, no kid, ever, has been killed with poisoned candy by a stranger. We will take our kids trick-or-treating this year, probably twice since the City of Edmond believes they can dictate when people can engage in private activity and I have a contrary spirit. Unlike the article suggests, I won’t be able to just let them go by themselves. Spike and I will follow along at a discrete distance. However, I do not expect any of my neighbors will be anything but friendly and dispense nice sweets.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
