Where do you carry?

The question came up in my handgun instructor classes of when people carry their guns. Survey says, some people carry all the time, some people almost never, with most carrying some of the time. If you don’t carry all the time, why not?

A friend of mine from church once said that he carries if he is going someplace dangerous and of course he always carries at the mall during Christmas shopping season. So apparently the mall during Christmas is also a dangerous place. My question is, if you know it is a dangerous place, then why go there at all?

Once I was going to buy a rifle from a guy I had only met online. The meet was scheduled for a truck stop off a major interstate. I asked a friend of mine to go with me and when I went to pick him up he was trying to decide what to bring. “Are you expecting trouble”, he asked. If I was expecting trouble I wouldn’t go. I told him “No” and he decided not to bring his pistol.

I wear a pistol precisely because I am not expecting trouble, but need to be ready for when trouble is expecting me. I don’t wear my pistol all the time. I used to be more flexible about it, but now I have adopted the carry philosophy of my friend Tony. He says:

If I’m wearing pants, I carry my gun.

I will soon be picking up a Walther PPS in 9mm and if I can find a belly band to go with it I think I can one-up Tony.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Jennifer  On November 16, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    There’s always the shoulder rig option. And I might just know a guy…

