The Scary Door

The West Side Rifle & Pistol Range–Manhattan’s only public shooting site–is in the heart of Chelsea, one of New York City’s most progressive neighborhoods. The range is right next door to the New VIP Club, a gentlemen’s cabaret. With even the slightest easterly breeze, the strippers’ pungent perfume accosts visitors to the West Side as they reach for the door.

via Forbes.com.

Reading about this gun range sounds like I’m reading about another world. How can this be in the land of the free? Sweet Mary, is that a chain wrapped around that rifle like a carnival game?

West Side Rifle & Pistol members, come to Oklahoma City. At H&H you can shoot for $9 per hour. If you don’t have one of your own, you can rent a handgun or a rifle for another $9 or so with nothing for collateral but your drivers license. I’ve never been, but they even have times they’ll let you shoot full-auto rifles. Oh, and just show up. No membership or background check required. We all have guns here, what would be the point?

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Rauðbjorn  On January 1, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    NINE DOLLARS AN HOUR! Loki’s Lascivious Libido that’s outrageous! Here in The Last Frontier you can shoot all day for $10. Now, they don’t rent firearms, but this is Alaska. Either you’ve got a piece, or you’re usually friends with someone that does.

    • trackerk  On January 1, 2011 at 7:47 pm

      It is a very nice indoor range, complete with cafe and a nice selection of guns and bows to buy. There is an outdoor range not far from here that will let you shoot all day for something like $10. I belong to an outdoor range for $180 per year where I can shoot all I want. I just figure pussified NY’rs would be happy at H&H :-).

      I also take new shooters to H&H if they don’t already have a gun. Lets me rent guns for them to try. Although, since I inveritably tell casual shooters to get a 9mm Springfield XD I should probably save myself the time.

