QOTD: Backup

“I carry a spare magazine. It just happens to have a gun wrapped around it.” — Tom Givens

I went to two Tom Givens classes last year and both times he stressed having a backup gun. Apparently I am just a poser for carrying one. But seriously, one is hard enough to conceal, but two? He must be joking, or because he is a little portly, maybe he just has more places to hide stuff (haha, please don’t hurt me Mr. Givens).

On the firing line one day in Given’s class I watch the guy next to me have a failure… tap, rack, click… magazine out, new magazine in, rack, click…and then the darndest thing happened… he just drops the gun (from only a few inches off the deck) produces another from I-HAVE-NO-IDEA-WHERE and finishes the fracking drill!

I am a poser. I’m going to need bigger pants.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Jennifer  On January 20, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    When Michael is carrying his revolvers, he is carrying a pair. You’re a bigger guy than he is. And they aren’t little revolvers.

