Wardrobe and Geography

There is a discussion going on in the NewsOK website about State Sen. Steve Russell’s proposal to allow open carry and allow the carry of firearms on college campuses. If you live in Oklahoma and have an opinion on the subject you should go there and share it. My comments are probably easy to pick out, but in case you’re having trouble I post as “Chuck” there for reasons I can’t remember.

The proposals are not nearly so radical as they at first seem. The proposal only seeks to extend what Oklahoma already has in place: thousands of law-abiding citizens carry concealed firearms every day in this state. They do it without any rise in accidental or intentional shootings. Citizens with concealed carry licenses have been shown to be more law-abiding than the general population and even more law-abiding than the law enforcement community*.

The proposals are not about increasing the number of guns, or opening up the carrying of guns to a whole new population. They are about not allowing wardrobe and geography to make criminals out of the most law-abiding citizens we have.

 

* I’ve misplaced the link I had to stats showing the incidence of crime committed by police were higher than those committed by CCW holders. If someone has that info please send me the link. If I hallucinated it wrong, then please correct me and I will retract that.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Scott  On January 26, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    I tried to leave a comment on the page and it was giving me a really hard time registering.

    I am pretty sure you know where I stand on this issue and I have notified my Representative, Senator and the Governor. I support Uncle Ted Nugents view of the Second Amendment. Also if you have not done so check out Armed American Radio and Mark Walters.

    There is also a discussion on this issue on news 9s site. My post are under William but I refuse to be pulled into a battle of wits with the witless. I will not respond to those that do not seem to wish to have a civilized discussion.

