Jump to the left, and a step to the right

None of my usual tools will download this video for me so I can slow it down for you, but go here and check out this video of a defensive shooting (the shooter went to trial and was found innocent).

Two things I’d like to point out. First, just because you shoot someone doesn’t mean they will stop attacking you. Even if your shot(s) are lethal, it may take several seconds for the person to loose enough blood for their blood pressure to drop and their legs to buckle. If your attacker has a knife, and you shoot them while they are rushing at you, you are still likely to get cut and maybe killed even though the guy has been shot. In the old west it was the dead man’s ten seconds.

Which brings me to my second point. After you fire, don’t stand on the X. X marks the spot right? X might be treasure or it might be the point of aim. In this case, it’s the point of aim. Don’t stand on it. Keep moving. If you train with me then you are familiar with “step, quarter turn”. You step-off to either the 2 o’clock or 10 o’clock angle (step) and then adjust your stance so that you are facing your opponent (quarter turn). We do it in Krav and we do it in Kickboxing for the exact same reason: to get off-line of the incoming attack.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
