Death of 1,000 cuts (ok, it was around 30)

This is my instructor, Jason Epps, demonstrating the Tomahawk template we came up with at the 2011 Warrior’s Way Family Gathering. We spent a couple of hours working with tomahawks. It was fun, but at first I thought pointless. I carry a Glock and a few knives, but who has a tomahawk handy for self-defense? And then I remembered the hatchet I take on camping trips. They’re all just tools. I think it is important to be able to use whatever is available to protect yourself and your family.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Jim  On April 11, 2011 at 11:33 am

    I was watching a video on urban survival kits yesterday (nutnfancy on YouTube) and one item was this claw bar from Stanley. Good for prying things open, but I bet it would make a pretty sweet weapon in a pinch (and you could probably use some of those tomahawk attack patterns). It would make Gordon Freeman proud, at any rate.

    Glock? I thought you were an XDM convert now? (Not that I have a problem with Glocks, because as you know I’m a fanboy.)

    • trackerk  On April 11, 2011 at 11:38 am

      I recommend XDs for those new to handguns or those that might only train once or twice a year. All the guys I train with and respect the most use Glocks. That includes current and ex-military and police types. Even if the gun they carry on duty isn’t a Glock, when they get to pick, they go with Glocks. So that’s what I use too. But the Glock is not a good entry level or casual use gun. They don’t have the safety features of the XD and usually have lighter triggers. Especially mine which is set up with a 3.5lb trigger 🙂

