Protect Your Guns

I don’t watch the news enough to be a good blogger. Luckily Jennifer does. Yesterday some 11-12 year old kids were home alone and one of them got out a rifle from under the ‘rents bed so he could show the other kids. Bad things continued to happen and the kid accidentally shot one of the other kids. According to the reports, the 12 year old girl who was shot will recover which is great news in this otherwise sad story.

“Dumb children may get a hold of your guns and shoot each other. If your children are dumb, put them up for adoption to protect your guns.”

Like Jennifer I love my kids and don’t really want to put them up for adoption (I might sell them for medical experiments though if the price were right). So all my kids from the earliest ages have been taught about guns. Here is what they were taught when they were little:

  • How to tell the difference between a toy gun and a real gun; if you aren’t 100% certain — then it’s a real gun.
  • Do not pick up or touch a real gun without Daddy’s say so.
  • If you ask permission from Daddy, you may touch and handle any of Daddy’s guns whenever you want.
  • You may not touch or handle any other gun, no matter who says it is Ok, unless the who is Daddy.
  • If you break any of the above rules, you will never go to the gun range again — ever.

And when I first went over these rules with them I got out every gun I owned, unloaded them, and put them on the bed for the kids to all see. Then, while talking about and practicing safe gun handling, I let them touch and hold every gun they wanted. We did this several times; any time they asked. Guns are no mystery to them. They aren’t nearly as cool as the Nintendo 3DS Ultra Mega Game Star Platform.

My philosophy is whatever I make a mystery, my kids will actively seek out. If I make it mundane and boring even they won’t give a crap. This theory is panning out. I have no idea what to tell or when to tell my kids about sex. So it is a mystery that my soon to be 12yr old keeps trying to investigate. He is such a good hotness detective that we have banned all Internet capable devices from the kids rooms lest grown up versions of Selena Gomez or Miley Cyrus teach them before I figure out what to do.

Other people’s kids though may be dumb so when friends are over all the guns go away into the safe.


I can’t let a couple of things in the news report pass. If you’re tired of me ranting about the press, just skip this part.

“The boy cleared the gun’s chamber and removed the magazine, police say. Investigators believe a round was still inside the weapon.”

No he didn’t. Either the reporter got it wrong or the police got it wrong. If he removed the magazine and cleared the chamber, then no round could be in the gun. Also, duh, if it wasn’t in the weapon then he would have had to throw it at her. Not sure what the muzzle velocity of his right arm is, but I’m pretty sure Nolan Ryan couldn’t hurt you with a .22 bullet.

“Witness reported to police that an 11-year-old boy was holding the gun when he accidentally squeezed the trigger.”

This isn’t an error, I just think it funny that when cops have a negligent discharge the gun “goes off” by magic and unknown forces. But here this kid squeezed the trigger.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Dave H  On March 20, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    You’re supposed to drop the mag -then- clear the chamber. Otherwise you just end up chambering another round. If the boy did it the way the article said (which I wouldn’t bet money on) he could end up with one in the pipe.

    I miss the things my kids used to “accidentally” do. The best was when my oldest daughter, age 9, “accidentally” duct taped her sister to the bedpost and poured Kool-aid on her.

    If you really want to quell your kids’ curiosity about your guns, make the kids clean them after every trip to the range.

    • trackerk  On March 20, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      He sure might have done that. But then, he didn’t clear the chamber, he loaded the chamber and the reporter or police were wrong in the description. I’m only a stickler for that sort of thing because non-gun people look at guns as somehow magical. They aren’t. If you removed the magazine and cleared the chamber, the gun would be unloaded. It’s not magic.

      As far as the kids, they love cleaning the guns. They love loading the magazines too. Basically they seem to love doing stuff with their parents. I’m sure they will get over that soon enough.

      • Dave H  On March 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

        You have some great kids there. Hang onto them as long as you can.

